• 1. Denial and Isolation
    The first reaction to the loss of a love relationship is to deny the reality of the situation. It is a normal reaction to rationalize overwhelming emotions. It is a defense mechanism that buffers the immediate shock. We block out the words and hide from the facts. This is a temporary response that carries us through the first wave of pain.

    2. Anger
    As the masking effects of denial and isolation begin to wear, reality and its pain re-emerge. We are not ready. The intense emotion is deflected from our vulnerable core, redirected and expressed instead as anger. The anger may be aimed at inanimate objects, complete strangers, friends or family. Anger may be directed at the loved one we are completing with. Rationally, we know the person is not to be blamed. Emotionally, however, we may resent the person for causing us pain or for leaving us. We feel guilty for being angry, and this makes us more angry.

    3. Bargaining
    The normal reaction to feelings of helplessness and vulnerability is often a need to regain control–

    If only we had sought the right kind of help sooner…
    If only I had changed, been more helpful, less critical…
    If only I had tried to be a better person toward them…
    Secretly, we may make a deal with God or our higher power in an attempt to postpone the inevitable. This is a weaker line of defense to protect us from the painful reality.

    4. Depression
    Two types of depression are associated with mourning. The first one is a reaction to practical implications relating to the loss. Sadness and regret predominate this type of depression. We worry about being alone in our home, seeing memories. We worry that we will never find the RIGHT one. This phase may be eased by simple clarification and reassurance. We may need a bit of helpful cooperation and a few kind words. The second type of depression is more subtle and, in a sense, perhaps more private. It is our quiet preparation to separate. Sometimes all we really need is a hug.

    5. Acceptance
    Reaching this stage of mourning is a gift. It is not necessarily a mark of bravery to resist the inevitable and to deny ourselves the opportunity to make our peace. This phase is marked by withdrawal and calm. This is not a period of happiness and must be distinguished from depression.

    Coping with loss is ultimately a deeply personal and singular experience — nobody can help you go through it more easily or understand all the emotions that you’re going through. But others can be there for you and help comfort you through this process. The best thing you can do is to allow yourself to feel the grief as it comes over you. Resisting it only will prolong the natural process of healing.

    Related Resources

    The Truth About Grief & Loss
    Children & Grief
    The Truth About Grief: The Myth of Its Five Stages
    (Book Review)
    On Grief, Loss and Coping